Counting Gifts

I leave for Newark in 4 days. I am excited for the adventure, anxious for the unknown, and rejoicing in the way God has provided so far.

Throughout my time in Newark, I plan to maintain this blog by counting gifts. This idea was inspired by Ann Voskamp‘s book One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You AreMy heart was inspired by this book to learn to live in the moment. She says that we can learn to give thanks in every moment, as Jesus did, and in return we enjoy the fullness of life and joy. I’m so excited about learning to see the joy and beauty in the mundane, unpleasant, and challenging. I know that through this process of giving thanks in every circumstance, God will show me more of who He is and how He is working.

I am counting gifts because I want to see God in whole new ways, but I’m also counting gifts because of the gospel. Ann Voskamp says in her book: “when I realize that it is not God who is in my debt, but I who am in His great debt, then doesn’t all become a gift?” Christ took my punishment and gave me His righteousness…every breath I take is a sweet gift from His gracious hand. Hopefully through this process of giving thanks, His grace will transform me and sustain me as I see Him in whole new ways.

“Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.” – 1 Thessalonians 5:9

Leave a Reply

