Giving thanks..even when it’s hard

Honestly, these past few days, finding a gift in the moment has been difficult. So difficult, that some days I didn’t count. As I sat with a friend who found out life-altering news, I cried out in my heart “Now, father? What gift is there right here?”  And then I remembered Paul saying that we present our requests and anxieties to God with thanksgiving. 

I will be the first to admit that I would rather wallow in pity, bitterness, and frustration then give thanks for the hard moments in life. But if I’m not giving thanks, where will I find joy? In myself? When things go according to “my plan?” I’ve discovered that giving thanks when I don’t want to is simply a way of teaching my heart to satisfy itself in the gospel. That’s really all it is…it realigns my focus and my thoughts away from myself and onto the cross.

So here are a few snapshots of this week:

#100 The Garden 

Safe Haven has a community garden that the kids help maintain and then they get to eat the produce or bring it back to their families! it is such a blessing, and the kids all love watering it.

#104 Fresh Cucumbers from said garden

Yes…that is writing on my hand. Made a list of stuff I needed…still forgot two things on the list. Love it.

#109. Thunderstorms 

It rained (and hailed) so hard here, and it totally cooled everything down. Such an awesome reminder of God’s power.

#112. Community 

We needed some extra help this week, and a local church totally stepped up and filled the need. Their help has been wonderful!

#115. Trying new things. 

I had sushi for the first time the other day! It was…gross. But I still tried it, which is a really big step for me. Side note: I also had traditional Portuguese food last night. Totally delicious.

#120. Powerlessness

God is teaching me so much about how even when I think I am safe, competent, and capable (my mindset my entire life before I came to Newark) – I’m really not because He is the one working in me. And when I don’t think I am safe, competent, or capable, it’s perfect because I have to totally rely on Him. I’m learning to live in this land of total powerlessness…and it’s radically freeing.

#123. Music

Remember gift #98? Well, now it is available for your listening pleasure on Gumroad. Enjoy! Link: https://gumroad.com/l/mhas

#128. Cheesin’ it. 

I’ll leave you with this picture of my spunky friend Tatamia..I hope her smile warms your heart like it does mine!

Thanks for reading, friend!

___

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.” Philippians 4:6

One thought on “Giving thanks..even when it’s hard

  1. “I’ve discovered that giving thanks when I don’t want to is simply a way of teaching my heart to satisfy itself in the gospel. That’s really all it is…it realigns my focus and my thoughts away from myself and onto the cross.” — What inspiring thoughts Sarah! I am so overjoyed that God is teaching you all these wonderful things…and you’re sharing them with us. I can imagine how full your heart is from all this wisdom and pray that God continues to reveal Himself to you. Our God is so amazing and He is doing amazing things with you. 🙂

    Thanks for the encouragement! Love you Sarah!

Leave a Reply

